“Give me Jesus” at the San Francisco Symphony

Mezzo soprano Melody Wilson
S. Suarez and S. Richards Photography

Simon, Price and Brahms
Davies Symphony Hall
Thu, Feb 17, 2022 at 7:30PM
Fri, Feb 18, 2022 at 7:30PM
Sat, Feb 19, 2022 at 7:30PM

Next Thursday through Saturday, the San Francisco Symphony premieres “Give Me Jesus”,  for chamber orchestra, male chorus and mezzo soprano. The piece is a set of arrangements of two spirituals (My Soul’s Been Anchored in the Lord and Give Me Jesus) and a Hymn (Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing). My dear friend, the radiant Melody Wilson, sings, and the conductor is Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser.

Michael Morgan

“Give Me Jesus” was commissioned by the Symphony for what was to be Michael Morgan‘s debut with the orchestra. He was one of my closest musical friends and supporters, providing many early opportunities for me as a composer, teacher and performer.
I finished the piece in mid-February 2020. Of course, COVID-19 had other plans for the premiere, and last year Michael left us, all too soon. As the piece was already dedicated to him (he selected the hymns), it is being presented at these concerts in memoriam. 

Tickets and additional information available here.