Skip to content

An American Dream

Chamber Opera (2013)
Libretto by Jessica Murphy-Moo
Six Voices; 1,1,1,1; 2,1; Harp, Piano, Perc, Strings
Duration: 65″
Download: Full Score :: Piano Vocal Score :: Libretto
Commissioned by Seattle Opera
Premiere August 2015, Seattle Opera, McCaw Hall
D’Ana Lombard, Hae Ji Chang, soprano; Nina Yoshida-Nelsen, mezzo-soprano; Adam Lau, bass
Audio excerpts:
Hae Ji Chang (Setsuko) “Don’t You Recognize Me?”
Morgan Smith, D’Ana Lombard “Boxes”
 D’Ana Lombard (Eva) “Quiet Now”
Morgan Smith (Jim) “The Way of War”
Adam Lau (Papa) “My Dear Setsuko”
Nina Yoshida Nelsen (Mama) “A House, Someday”